I am amazed at my daughter… A typical parent I suppose.

People tell you time will fly once you have kids. People also say that you’ll be amazed at the things your kid does. Both statements are understatements. As I sit here on my bed, watching my daughter play with her endless array of toys, I am overcome with a deep, love-based astonishment. Every parent thinks their kid is a genius, or the most beautiful baby, or whatever else accomplishment they secretly hope will one day come to fruition. I once chuckled at that thought, but now I find myself completely submerged– no, drowning– in those sentiments. I just want my daughter to lead a happy, fulfilling life– and whatever that entails for her own existence is completely up to her. I want all of that for her. All of that, and more.

Leave a Reply

