Some thoughts on The Haunting, Book 2 of The Forest Spirit Series.

Currently I’m gearing up to submit the sequel to The Falling, entitled The Haunting, to my publisher. Back before I had a baby, I had the luxury of writing when I wanted, and how long I wanted. Nowadays that just simply isn’t possible, but I try my best to make time for my passion. The Haunting was written almost immediately upon completion of The Falling, and so the reader will be able to enjoy that sense of a flowing tale that transcends more than one generation. I have outlined Book 3, but have yet to start the actual writing process. It’s been nearly three years since The Falling and The Haunting were written. Back then, Lenore wasn’t even a blip of thought in my mind, and I was blessed enough to be represented by a very well-established, very accomplished literary agent (who has since passed away, unfortunately). So I am now on my own. Yikes!

The title of Book 2, The Haunting, sheds some slight insight into the happenings of this novel. Yes, there are ghosts. Yes, the Forest is experiencing a haunting unlike one any forest has ever seen. And yes, Rowan is back.

I’ve always had a strange, often morbid fascination with death, though I like to refer to this interest as part of my overall macabre nature. I am, after all, a Pisces. I often have a myriad of horror story ideas running through my head at any given time, yet something has always prevented me from actually writing a full length horror novel. Well, since I was a little kid, that is, and that used to be all I ever wrote, and I guess I don’t consider those legitimate novels.

I’m not sure why I never really sat down and wrote my own great American ghost story, though one day I fully intend on doing just that. Part of me wonders if I can ever really “go there” with the intense and terrifying content one expects from a true horror novel, but the other part of me, my macabre side, knows that I can absolutely achieve that and then some. The Haunting does “go there” in a sense, but is still aimed at the Young Adult genre, so expect the scares to be more PG-13. But one day, I promise you, the R-rated horror novel will raise its ugly head, though likely under a different pen name. We will have to wait and see.

Anyway, back to The Haunting. The Haunting embodies all of the scariness and intensity that I held back in The Falling, although if you have read the latter you know well that what happens to Nessaba accurately fits those descriptions. I wanted to focus more on setting the overall scene in The Falling, and also give the reader a peek into the natures of the beings, animals, and Higher Spirits in question. The Haunting represents the prickles in your skin when you pass by a cemetery at night, the disembodied screams you think you hear off in the distance as you’re drifting off to sleep, and the flicker of light, mist, black shadow, or movement you “think” you see out of the corner of your eye. The Haunting pushes the Forest to the near brink of its existence, and even I often wonder– What could possibly do more damage than that?

When a location is haunted, the entire feel and overall energy of the place becomes thick. The air reeks of a sinister nature, and invisible eyes scroll up and down any body that dares enter. It plays off your fear. It feeds off your anxiety. And barely even audible, it whispers softly in your ear, telling you to enact the negative thoughts that trickle through your brain every now and then. You would never do that thing in real life, but something about this location influences. Are you strong enough to withstand such pressing thoughts? Most people are. The influential, unlucky ones, are not.

The Haunting is my favorite book that I’ve written thus far in my life. And hopefully, someday soon, you will be enjoying it too. I recommend reading it at night. 😉

Leave a Reply

