Onto the next!

Last night I officially submitted my manuscript of The Haunting to my publisher. I’m eager to hear what they think of it. Now onto the next project, which is a collaborative paranormal romance with the CEO of my publisher. She is insanely good at delving deep into characters and their psyches, whilst I tend to excel at setting the overall scenes and descriptions. The perfect match, if you ask me. We balance out each other well, and I’m excited to see how it goes.

I’m also going to start an editing rewrite of a young adult book I wrote about three years ago, somewhere in between The Falling and The Haunting. It’s somewhat reminiscent of my high school experience, though a lot of it is completely fabricated from my brain and based more in fantasy than reality. It’s about a boy, his lifelong crush, and a curse. It also goes into his relationship with his parents and sister, and through his experience he’s able to learn a bit more about his mysterious grandparents, mainly his grandfather. His grandfather is a kahuna, or Hawaiian witch doctor, and the protagonist never thought that it was anything beyond superstition, that is, until now.

I’m also dabbling in the idea of doing my own anthology, likely a mix of fantasy and horror. I already have one author on board, and a list of others I plan on extending an offer for submission. I also have a couple of special individuals in mind for the cover design and overall editing, so we will see how that goes. I probably won’t even start really thinking about this project until the aforementioned two are completed, or at least nearly completed.

A writer’s work is never done, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

